Gallery

Daily Prompt: Black

It was dark so much sooner now that daylight saving had ended and I just needed to keep on moving if I wanted to get home soon and out of the dark black night.

All around me the shadows played and everything seemed to echo as I quicken my steps to get home as fast as my little short legs could take me.

I knew I shouldn’t have stayed out so late but I was having so much fun that I just hadn’t stop to think about how dark it would be out tonight.

As I rounded the corner to my house, I didn’t see the lights coming toward me until it was too late.

Or at least I thought it was too late but, out of nowhere he grabbed me back just as a crazy driver turned the corner and kept on speeding down the ride with no care in the world.

He asked if I was okay and I said yes and he walked me cross the street and told me to be more careful next time for people around here don’t care if it’s a residential   neighborhood.

Speeding is in their blood and it at least once or more someone gets hit and it’s always because someone is being careless and speeding to get home or to work.

He walked away and soon he had disappeared into the night as I ran the rest of the way home and didn’t stop until I made up to my door and was safe inside.

I’ll never forget that day for if I do It feels like I’m being ungrateful for if it wasn’t for him I wouldn’t be here now living the dream life I have always wanted.

 

 

Written By: Deirdre Stokes

image

Daily Prompt: Black

Leave a Reply

