Gallery

I know

I can’t be too sad when I dugged my own grave

With the careless words that I said that day.

Maybe, just for a moment I lost my mind but it doesn’t matter

I shouldn’t have let my emotions get the best of me.

The night was already dark and then there I go saying all

Those things.

It felt like you were walking down a hallway carrying so much and there I was

Just putting one more thing into your arms and there you went to the floor.

And no I didn’t even stop to try to help you pick up the mess I just went on with

My day with no care in the world.

Smiling to all as if I was so happy and I didn’t even seem to care that you never showed up I just was so concerned about myself.

I was selfish and my caring heart was so black from just looking out for myself that I didn’t help as many as I used too.

I had become someone I wasn’t just to survive for things were not the way I wanted them to be but, I shouldn’t have taken it all out on you.

Now I will do all that I can to gain the respect and honor to be a part of your life again.

 

 

Written By: Deirdre Stokes

image

3 thoughts on “I know

  1. Wow, this is a beautifully honest piece–and I know exactly how you feel: I’ve too often said the worst things because I was so self-centered, just trying to survive my life… God bless you ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.