Gallery

How

did I reach pass you and let you slip away

under the cold water your body went.

I thought you could hold on as I got out someone else

that needed help too but with only me to choose from.

I feel like how could I have done this differently that it would end up

with you being around and not freezing.

The answer I don’t know but then someone else reached for you and now you are safe.

But, you won’t look at me for I didn’t choose you and in the end that day changed everything for me.

I wonder where you are and what you are doing now, as you have grown up and that memory probably far from your mind.

But, for me it haunts me almost every night and no matter how I try I can’t find a way to fix the outcome of that day.

 

 

Written By: Deirdre Stokes

image

