Gallery

Daily Prompt:Recognize

I recognized you by your smile

one that haunts me in my dreams.

I thought I’d never see you again and

then there you were standing with a group of friends.

Laughing and smiling like you had no care in the world

and then as if you sensed someone watching you, you turned my way

and at first I thought you wouldn’t recognize me.

But then you smiled and you waved at me and then you turned around and said something

to your friends and then begun to walk my way and it felt like I was glued to that spot.

As you got closer all I could think of was would it feel like were strangers to one another or would we fall back into the friendliness we have always had.

And then you hugged me and I felt my body and soul relax as you recognized me and you still knew what I needed when I couldn’t even admit it to myself.

That day I found a part of myself I didn’t even know had been missing and that smile doesn’t haunt me anymore as I see it light up just for me every day now.

 

 

Written By: Deirdre Stokes

image

Daily Prompt: Recognize

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt:Recognize

Comments are closed.