Gallery

Daily Prompt:Careful

I try to be careful around you as the day goes by.

But I catch myself watching you more closely.

Like a tree you grow in front of me and as your branches intertwine with me.

Wrapping around me like a safety net nothing can get through to harm me.

As I stand here protected by you, time goes by and the beauty of this situation begins to darken as the flowers become weeds.

And the light that used to shine on us turned into darkness and shadows begun to grow so tall.

That the branches that used to protect me started to fall and before I could blink you were gone.

And all that was left was me and darkness and all the beautiful flowers had vanished and cold wind blew through and nothing seemed the same again.

 

Written By: Deirdre Stokes

image

Daily Prompt:Careful

