Gallery

Daily Prompt: Pretend

To smile, to lie

Too pretend

it really isn’t worth it

when it only lasts a night, a moment.

Am I wasting my time

when I try to pretend so

I can fit in with you or I pretend

so you don’t see what’s really going on.

This isn’t a play that ends with the curtains closing and

only to come back open with everyone bowing and the audience applauding.

The end results won’t be something you cheer for, for pretending hasn’t led me

to success.

Just the feeling of failure and maybe there isn’t time to clean up the mess I’ve made, if

only I hadn’t pretended and just showed who I truly am from the beginning.

There wouldn’t be so much tears or pain, that I can’t seem to wash away the darkness that has swallow me up for pretending wasn’t supposed to be a game.

That ended with no happy ending for when the credits rolled and the screen went black and as the lights came on in the theater of my life.

Every seat was empty with no trace of anyone ever being around.

 

 

Written By: Deirdre Stokes

image

Daily Prompt: Pretend

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Pretend

Comments are closed.