Gallery

Daily Prompt: Brick

I stack the bricks one at a time as

I block your view from my life for good.

You don’t deserve to see the things that are

happening to me, for you never cared and I’m  moving on.

I don’t want to feel like I’m the one locked inside my own

life when I’m in control not you, the one with the brown eyes.

You used to watch me like a tiger watching its prey

waiting for a moment of weakness to overcome me and, then

you would prance and in the end.

It would take all that I have to get back up and fight for myself

again.

So I’m blocking you out and every brick that goes up the strength

that flows inside me grows until I’m fee and my wall is up for good.

But one day that wall will come down and when it does you will be gone

and, what is left of you I will blow away like dust.

 

Written By: Deirdre Stokes

image

Daily Prompt: Brick

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Brick

Comments are closed.