Gallery

Daily Prompt: Survival

I’m trying to survive on an already empty tank

There’s no emotions running through my body right now.

The day is slowly going by and I’m just barely cruising by

and as I sit here, I try to make some contract with what’s going on.

But nothing seems to work as I can’t focus on anything but I’m

telling myself inside that I’m really living right now for I’m doing

what I love and I’m not settling at anything.

But the tank is still empty, even when it seems I’m happy as can be

this thing called survival just isn’t feeling the way I thought it would.

What can I do to make this situation better and start living on a full tank

of joy, love, laughter again.

Sometimes surviving is hard and even though you’re alive and you’re moving around

and you’re doing the things you love, sometimes your still lost inside.

Simply surviving isn’t something you can do anymore, for you’re inside is crying

for more and you just can’t seem to grasp what it is.

So how do you survive when the feelings and emotions of yesterday are gone and

today seems impossible to survive?

 

Written By: Deirdre Stokes

image

Daily Prompt: Survival

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Survival

  1. Hi

    That was expressive and well thought out. I found some errors that you probably overlooked since you had been doing fine with those.

    Sometimes surviving is hard and even though your/’re alive and your/’re moving around

    and you’re doing the things you love, sometimes your/’re still lost inside

    and

    So how do you survive when the feelings and emotions of yesterday is/are* gone and

    today seems impossible to survive?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just. Keep. Living.
    What that means is different to me every day but I just focus on whatever is literally right in front of me. I just keep trying to do the next right thing.
    For you, it might help to re-read these precious words you just wrote in a recent post …
    “But you don’t give up because right now you’re at your strongest, and it’s time to fight for your not alone in this battle.”
    Blessings … Marianne

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.